Tennessee Marriage Records: Lawrence County, 1818-1854


Author: Whitley, Edythe Rucker
Publication Date: 1982
Pages: 110 pp.
ISBN: 9780806309781


Lawrence County, Tennessee, in the south-central part of the state, just above Alabama, was erected from parts of Maury and Hickman Counties in 1817. Its marriage records, commencing in 1818, are on file in the county clerk’s office in Lawrenceburg. The records abstracted in the first section of this book, covering the years 1818 to 1838, derive from the original bonds and licenses, while records appearing in the second section, covering the period 1818 to 1854, are based on a marriage register. Both sets of records, totaling about 2,500 marriages, provide the names of the bride and groom and the date of the marriage bond or license (frequently both). With the exception of the grooms in Section 1, who are listed in alphabetical order, the index contains the names of everyone mentioned in the marriage records–about 5,000 brides, grooms and bondsmen.

Additional information


Printed For Your Order








There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Tennessee Marriage Records: Lawrence County, 1818-1854”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *